Delete, Deactivate, and Activate Apps

3 minutes to read Download PDF Edit

1 Introduction

In an App Team, only the SCRUM Master (or a custom role with the App Settings permission) is allowed to deactivate the app (even when there are still App Team members for the app).

In addition, the Company Admin is allowed to activate and deactivate all the company’s apps (with or without App Team members for the app).

This how-to will teach you how to do the following:

  • Deactivate apps (Company Admin and SCRUM Master)
  • Activate apps (Company Admin)

2 Prerequisites

Before starting this how-to, make sure you have completed the following prerequisites:

  • To deactivate/activate the company’s apps, you must have the Company Admin role in your Mendix company
  • To deactivate your app, you must have the SCRUM Master role in your app

For more information, see Roles Within the Company and Apps.

To manage the users in your company, follow these steps:

  1. Go to the Developer Portal.
  2. Click your avatar in the top-right corner of the screen:

  3. Click Company Admin.

  4. Click Apps in the left navigation panel.

3.1 Deactivating Apps

Only Free Apps can be deactivated. The deactivated apps will still exist within the company and will be invisible to regular users. To deactivate an app, follow these steps:

  1. In the Company Admin settings, click Apps in the left menu.
  2. Select the check boxes of the apps that you want to delete.
  3. Click Activate / Deactivate App.
  4. In the pop-up window that appears, click Deactivate apps:

3.2 Deleting Apps

Only Free Apps can be deleted. App deletion cannot be undone and means that ALL DATA WILL BE LOST, including all the files on the Team Server and all the data in the Free App node (if applicable).

To delete an app, follow these steps:

  1. In the Company Admin settings, click Apps in the left navigation menu.
  2. Select the check boxes of the apps that you want to delete.
  3. Click Delete.

3.2 Activating Apps

To activate an inactive app, follow these steps:

  1. In the Company Admin settings, click Apps in the left navigation menu.
  2. Select the app with the inactive status.
  3. Click Activate / Deactivate App.
  4. In the pop-up window that appears, click Activate apps.

4 App Team Settings

If an app that still has App Team members eeds to be deleted or deactivated, this can be accomplished by a team member with a SCRUM Master role or another custom role with the App Team App Settings permission.

To view the App Settings, follow these steps:

  1. Go to the Developer Portal.
  2. Click Apps in the top navigation panel.
  3. Select the app that needs to be deleted or deactivated.
  4. In the left menu click General under the Settings category.
  5. Click Edit Settings.

4.1 Deactivate App

Only Free Apps can be deactivated. The deactivated apps will still exist within the company and will invisible to regular users. The Company Admin can activate an inactive app.

To deactivate an app, follow these steps:

  1. In the app settings, click Deactivate App.
  2. In the Confirmation pop-up message, click Deactivate.

4.2 Delete App

Only Free Apps can be deleted. App deletion cannot be undone and means that ALL DATA WILL BE LOST, including all files on the Team Server and all data in the Free App node (if applicable).

To delete an app, follow these steps:

  1. In the app settings, click Delete app.
  2. In the Confirmation pop-up message, click Yes, delete the app.