Collaborative development is only available if your app has Mendix version 7.23.3 or above. You cannot sync your changes with Studio Pro if your app has Mendix version 7.23.2 or below.
You will still be able to open your app in Studio. However, to sync changes between Studio and Studio Pro, Studio Pro must be upgraded to version 7.23.3 or above.
Collaborative development is the process that allows team members work together on one app in Mendix Studio Pro and Mendix Studio and easily synchronize changes made by others using version control.
If you are working in a team (or switch from Studio to Studio Pro yourself), it is easy to share app model changes. All changes made in Studio are auto-saved. Studio Pro users get these changes when they click Update or Commit. If they commit, they push their own changes at the same time, so both Studio and Studio Pro are synchronized. For a more technical and detailed process overview, see Collaborative Development in the Studio Pro Guide.
Multiple users can view the app in Studio at the same time: one user can edit it and others are in read-only mode.
For concepts and definitions, see section 2 Concepts in Version Control.
3 Collaborative Development from Studio Perspective
As all Studio changes are auto-saved, the collaborative development is indicated by pop-ups that you see when the content of the app is being changed or synchronized. This can happen in the following cases:
Committing Your Changes – if your team members are working on the same development line in Studio Pro and they click Update, your screen gets locked for a few moments while your changes are automatically committed to the Team Server and then applied to Studio Pro. For more information on the collaborative development process in Studio Pro, see the Studio Pro Perspective section in Collaborative Development.
Syncing Changes – your screen gets locked for a few moments each time the Studio Pro users commit.
There are two possible outcomes of this process:
a. In Studio Pro, there are no conflicts in the app, and changes from Studio Pro will be applied to Studio. (Conflicts are changes that contradict each other and cannot be merged automatically. For example, one user has changed a caption of a button, while another user has deleted this button).
b. There are app conflicts which should be solved in Studio Pro before the Studio Pro user can commit again. Your screen is unlocked without any changes to your app.
Switching Contents – in Studio Pro, users can change the branch line Studio is enabled for. For more information, see the Managing Studio on Development Lines section in the Collaborative Development in the Studio Pro Guide. During this process Studio gets locked for a few moments, all changes are auto-saved on the current development line, and a pop-up dialog is shown that the Studio Pro user is changing the branch line for Studio. This means that the contents of your app will change.