History
Introduction
Use the History pane to see the changes that have been committed to a development line of an app. You can open this pane by selecting Version Control > History from the menu. The History pane displays all revisions at once in a searchable grid, making it easy to view the detailed project history.
Studio Pro 11.6 introduced a new default view for History. Partially cloned apps automatically use the older blocking dialog. You can also choose to keep using the blocking dialog for all apps through the Version Control Preferences.
The Revision Selector still uses the blocking dialog when you select a revision to revert, merge from, create a branch line from, or create a deployment archive from.
For more information on the blocking dialog, see the Mendix 10 documentation.
Revisions
Each line in the grid represents a revision in the repository.
Search and Filters
There are different filter options available to help find specific revisions:
- The search bar looks in all fields of the revisions grid and in the details of the commit, such as the Model changes, Disk changes and Stories.
- The date filter allows specifying a date range for revisions. The available presets help to quickly select a range.
- The document filter allows selecting a document, such as a specific microflow, to filter all revisions on.
- The branch line filter limits the history to commits from a selected branch. See Branch Line Filter below.
Branch Line Filter
The Branch Line drop-down list is in the History dialog toolbar. It filters the commit history to show only commits from a selected branch line.
By default, no filter is active and the history shows all commits on the current branch. The current branch is highlighted at the top of the drop-down list; all other branches are listed alphabetically.
To filter by branch, do the following:
- Click the Branch line drop-down list in the toolbar.
- Select a branch from the drop-down list, or type its name to narrow the list. The history grid filters commits from the selected branch.
When the filter is active, the Clear branch filter button appears to the right of the drop-down list. To clear the filter, click Clear branch filter and the filter resets to the current branch.
To reload the branch list without losing your current filter selection, click the Refresh branch list icon to the right of the drop-down list.
Content
For each revision the following information is shown, more information about each of these values is available below:
By selecting a revision in this grid, the tabs below the grid will be filled with information about this revision.
Comparing Revisions
Revisions can be compared in the following ways:
-
To compare a revision to your current working state, right-click a revision and select Compare to current state. This opens the Comparison pane, which shows all differences between the selected revision and your current state, including uncommitted changes.
-
To compare any two commits, do the following:
- Select the first commit, hold Ctrl (Windows/Linux) or Cmd (Mac) and then select the second commit.
- When two commits are selected, open the Compare dropdown and select Compare revisions (2/2 selected), or right-click a selected row, point to Compare..., and select Compare revisions (2/2 selected). This opens the Comparison pane. These options are unavailable until exactly two commits are selected.
For more information, see Comparison Pane.
Revision
A unique alphanumeric identifier of the revision in the repository. The revision identifier is the Git hash for the commit and is unique for a whole repository.
Status
Shows the state of the revision in relation to the server. It can have one of the following values:
- Synced – shown when revision exists locally as well as on the server
- Local – shown when the revision is only available locally, because a local commit was made
- On server – shown when the revision is only available on the server; this is an indicator there is incoming work that will have to be merged before being able to push new commits to the server
Author
The person who committed the change.
Date/Time
The date the revision was created.
Message
The message saved with the commit. If the message is long, you can read it more easily in the Message tab page by selecting the revision.
Details of Revisions
On the right of the grid are a number of tabs which give further details about the currently-selected revision.
Message
This tab shows the message saved when these changes were committed.
The Mendix version that was used to commit the revision to the model is also shown.
Model Changes
This tab shows a list of documents that were changed in the selected revision. From here you can jump to the currently selected changed document by clicking Go to, assuming the document still exists in the current version.
The search bar within the tab can be used to filter the list of documents.
Disk Changes
This tab shows a list of the files that were changed on disk. You can see whether files were added, deleted or modified. To compare a modified file with its committed version, use Compare with original in the Changes pane, which opens the File Differences Viewer.
The search bar within the tab can be used to filter the list of files.
Stories
This tab shows a list of stories that are related to the changes.